Mercury - CD

from Darryl Reeves

Compact Disc (CD)

Mercury is a milestone album that fuses elements of jazz, hip hop, and funk into a seamless continuum that dares to define itself. After an 8-year hiatus, the saxophonist has returned with a new crew consisting of keyboardist Kenny Banks, Jr., bassist Joel Powell, and drummer Kenton Bostick. Mercury also features a gifted array of special guests including Valencia Robinson, Carmen Rodgers, Gwen Bunn, Rasheeda Ali, LotusLove, Kebbi Williams, D-Focis, & Dashill “SunnovahKind” Smith.

Mercury presents a strong balance of musical exploration and sound architecture. The band reinvent the Donald Byrd / Mizell Bros. classic, “Think Twice” with Valencia Robinson and the Onaje Allen Gumbs’ “Every Time I See You” with Gwen Bunn. Also, new collaborative originals such as “Dark Matter” with Carmen Rodgers, “Paradise” with Rasheeda Ali and “Mercenaries” with Dashill Smith.

The track listing for Mercury is a follows:

1. Coldstone (featuring Ingrid Sibley)
2. Southern Lights
3. Retrograde
4. Think Twice (featuring Valencia Robinson & D-Focis)
5. Everytime I See You (featuring Gwen Bunn)
6. Paradise (featuring Rasheeda Ali & Carmen Rodgers)
7. Peach Lady (featuring Valencia Robinson)
8. Mercenaries (featuring Lotus Love & Dashill SunnovahKind Smith)
9. Solstice (featuring Kebbi Williams)
10. Dark Matter (featuring Carmen Rodgers)
11. Star of Detroit
12. The Messenger (featuring Rasheeda Ali)

Darryl Reeves - Alto Sax, Synths
Kenny Banks - Keyboards
Joel Powell - Bass
Kentonk Bostick - Drums

Produced by Darryl Reeves
Art Design - Nobella Creaton & Darryl Reeves


Includes unlimited streaming of Mercury via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

ships out within 3 days

 $12 USD or more


contact / help

Contact Darryl Reeves

Download help